Assembly establishes Committees to examine key issues in London

14 May 2014

At its annual meeting today, the London Assembly agreed the establishment and membership of a range of Committees to lead investigations into issues ranging from public transport to spending at City Hall.

Committees, Chairs and Deputy Chairs as follows:

Audit Panel (4 Members)

Chair: John Biggs AM

Deputy Chairman: Roger Evans AM

Budget and Performance Committee (7 Members)

Chair: John Biggs AM

Deputy Chair: Stephen Knight AM

Confirmation Hearings Committee (9 Members)

Chair and Deputy Chair to be appointed at each meeting.

Economy Committee (7 Members)

Chair: Jenny Jones AM

Deputy Chair: Fiona Twycross AM

Environment Committee (7 Members)

Chair: Stephen Knight AM

Deputy Chair: Murad Qureshi AM

GLA Oversight Committee (9 Members)

Chair: Len Duvall AM

Deputy Chairman: Tony Arbour AM

Health Committee (5 Members)

Chair: Dr Onkar Sahota AM

Deputy Chairman: Andrew Boff AM

Housing Committee (7 Members)

Chair: Darren Johnson AM

Deputy Chair: Tom Copley AM

Planning Committee (5 Members)

Chair: Nicky Gavron AM

Deputy Chairman: Steve O’Connell AM

Police and Crime Committee (9 Members)

Chair: Joanne McCartney AM

Deputy Chair: Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM

Deputy Chair: Jenny Jones AM

Regeneration Committee (5 Members)

Chairman: Gareth Bacon AM

Deputy Chair: Navin Shah AM

Transport Committee (9 Members)

Chair: Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM

Deputy Chair: Valerie Shawcross CBE AM

Full Membership of each Committee and terms of reference

Notes to editors

  1. Our Committee meetings are open to the public. See our public meeting calendar.
  2. As well as investigating issues that matter to Londoners, the London Assembly acts as a check and a balance on the Mayor.