Implementation of controlled parking zones in Eltham Heights

Date petition submitted: 
24 July 2013
Petition presented by: 
Darren Johnson (past staff) AM,
Petition presented at: 
London Assembly Plenary

Summary of petition

“I/we the undersigned residents of Eltham Heights and Avery Hill urge London Assembly Members to support Controlled Parking Zones in the above areas. For several years our neighbourhoods have experienced intolerable levels of commuter and student parking. Drives have been blocked. Residents without off-street parking, some suffering infirmities, have frequently had to park up to half a mile from their homes. We do not believe that the CPZ would result in overspill parking into Bexley. This is demonstrated by much lower levels of parking on Greenwich Borough Roads (e.g. Packmores Road, Southspring) which border Bexley. Indeed on the northern side of the proposed CPZ, Bexley already has its own CPZ.”

Response information

Name of person responding: 
The Mayor
Response date: 
13 December 2013
“Dear Chris Proposals for Controlled Parking Zones (CPZs) at Avery Hill and Falconwood I am writing in relation to Controlled Parking Zones proposed by the Royal Borough of Greenwich at Avery Hill and Falconwood, to which I understand the London Borough of Bexley objects. I have considered the information provided by the Royal Borough of Greenwich and the London Borough of Bexley, as well as the evidence I would require in order to enable me to take an informed decision. However, it is clear that this is a local issue, which I consider could reasonably and preferably be resolved through local collaboration. I have therefore come to the view that it would not be appropriate for me to exercise the power in s.121B (3) (d) Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984 to consider this matter. Therefore, I would urge you to make every attempt to arrive at a solution yourselves. For completeness, I am sending a copy of this letter to Darren Johnson AM and Gareth Bacon AM who recently petitioned me on this and to the Leader of Bexley Council, Cllr Teresa O’Neil.”