Grand Union Park

OPDC Planning Committee

The OPDC Board has appointed a Planning Committee to ensure that decisions on planning applications are made in an open, transparent and impartial manner.

The Planning Committee will either make the decisions on the applications submitted to the OPDC or delegate decisions to officers of the OPDC’s Planning Team.

See our separate Planning Committee meetings page for more information on decision making meetings and to find out how you can attend.

Make-up of the Planning Committee

The Planning Committee comprises of:

  • a Chairman who is also a member of the OPDC Board
  • three independent members
  • four local councillors, who have been recommended by the three boroughs whose boundaries falls within the OPDC area

Planning Committee members

William McKee (Chair)

William is Chair of the OPDC Planning Committee and a member of the main Board. 

His other appointments include:

  • Chair of the Mayor of London’s Outer London Commission
  • Chief Executive of Accessible Retail
  • Joint Managing Director of property consultants LAPAR
  • independent member of the North West Surrey Care Commissioning Group Governing Body
  • Director and Trustee of the Rambert Dance Company
  • Chair of the Advisory Board of Southampton University Business School

Until earlier this year, he was Chairman of property investment and development company, Tilfen Land and a member of the Higher Education Funding Council for England Architecture, Built Environment and Planning Sub-panel of the 2014 Research Excellence Framework. 

In 2002, William received the CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for services to the property industry.

Gordon Adams

Gordon is the Head of Planning at Battersea Power Station Development Company (BPSDC) which is delivering one of the most iconic developments in the property world. 

He has over 13 years’ experience in town planning gained from both Australia and the UK, having specialised in large complex developments in central London.  He joined BPSDC in January 2013 and is responsible for overseeing the delivery of the 8m sqf project through the planning system, together with close liaison with government stakeholders including Wandsworth Council, the GLA, TfL and Historic England. 

Prior to joining BPSDC, Gordon was Team Leader – Major Applications at Southwark Council where he facilitated high profile developments including the Shard and the comprehensive redevelopment of London Bridge Station.  He also spent a year advising the Mayor of London on large-scale developments. 

Gordon is the former Chair of the Planning Institute of Australia’s UK branch and President of their International Division.

Cllr Wesley Harcourt (LB Hammersmith & Fulham)

Wesley was elected as Councillor for the College Park and Old Oak Ward in Hammersmith & Fulham in 1994 and continues to represent the ward. He was a member of the Borough Planning Committee from 1994 until 2014 and was Chair from 1998 until 2006.

He is currently Cabinet Member for Environment, Transport and Resident Services.  Wesley is also Chair of Governors of his local Primary school, a trustee of the local CAB and Chair of Old Oak Housing Association.

Cllr Natalia Perez (LB Hammersmith & Fulham)

Natalia was elected as Councillor for the Shepherds Bush Green Ward in Hammersmith & Fulham in 2014. She is Chair of the borough’s Licensing Committee and a member of the Planning and Development Control Committee and the Health, Adult Social Care and Social Inclusion Policy and Accountability Committee.

Colin Haylock

Colin is an Architect-Planner with over 40 years’ experience. He ran a large multi-disciplinary Environmental Design and Conservation Team for Newcastle City Council, spent 10 years as Urban Design Director for a major architectural practice and now runs an independent specialist consultancy.

He has been intensely involved in the work of the RTPI since 1990 - led the development of its’ Urban Design Network and was the Institute’s National President in 2012.

From 2000 onward he was a major contributor to the work of CABE (the Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment) – work which he continues now with Design Council CABE with a current focus on Inclusive Environments.

As a consultant, Design Council CABE Built Environment Expert and Planning Aid Volunteer he has worked extensively with community groups on Neighbourhood Planning.

He is a visiting professor in the Bartlett School of Planning at University College London and a Visiting Professor of Practice in the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape at Newcastle University.

He is a member of the London Mayor’s Design Advisory Group, a member of the joint Oxford City Council / CABE Panel and a member of numerous other planning and design review and awards assessment panels.

Cllr James Denselow (LB Brent)

Bio to follow.

Stuart Robinson

Stuart is Chairman of UK Planning at CBRe, the world’s largest property services company. He started his career focusing on central area development and has been involved in the planning of over 20 shopping centres over his career including the Bull Ring in Birmingham.

Latterly Stuart has focused on major projects in London, including the regeneration of Kings Cross Central and Regent Street. He has also been involved in shaping schemes like the Royal Arsenal, Tate Modern, One Blackfriars, London Dock and Embassy Gardens in Nine Elms.

In 2013, Stuart was shortlisted for “London’s Planner of the Year” organised by the RTPI/GLA and London First and has been included in Property Week’s Top 50 most influential professional and legal figures.

Cllr Peter Mason (LB Ealing)

Bio to follow.

Terms of reference, planning delegations and code of practice

The terms of reference for the Planning Committee can be found below:

OPDC Planning Committee as amended 27 February 2017

Scheme of Planning Delegations and Planning Committee Code of Practice are available on our governance page.