Changing chairs - Assembly reshuffle announced

13 May 2015

The annual reshuffle of the London Assembly is complete.

At its Annual Meeting today, all Assembly Members present voted for new leadership, in a year which will culminate with the Assembly and Mayoral elections in May 2016.

The new Chair of the London Assembly is confirmed as Jennette Arnold OBE AM and the new Deputy Chairman is Tony Arbour AM.

Chair of the London Assembly, Jennette Arnold OBE AM said;

“We thank Roger Evans AM for all his great work as Chairman of the Assembly during the past year and in this new year, as we approach the Assembly and Mayoral Elections in May 2016, we must remain focussed on our key role and what more we can do for London.

Our job is to make sure that everyone in the capital gets the value for money and the transparency they deserve. We provide Londoners with the reassurance that back-room deals, under-the-table tactics and simple bad business decisions are not allowed to happen. After all we are elected to hold the Mayor and his functional bodies to account.”

The meeting also agreed the membership and Chairs of a range of Committees to lead investigations into issues ranging from public transport to spending at City Hall.

The meeting can be viewed here.

The role of the Assembly is to act as a check and balance on the activities of the Mayor of London.

Committees, Chairs and Deputy Chairs as follows:

Audit Panel (4 Members)

Chairman: John Biggs AM

Deputy Chairman: Roger Evans AM

Budget and Performance Committee (7 Members)

Chairman: John Biggs AM

Deputy Chair: Stephen Knight AM

Confirmation Hearings Committee (9 Members)

Chair and Deputy Chair appointed at each meeting.

Economy Committee (7 Members)

Chair: Fiona Twycross AM

Deputy Chair: Stephen Knight AM

Environment Committee (7 Members)

Chair: Darren Johnson AM

Deputy Chair: Murad Qureshi AM

GLA Oversight Committee (9 Members)

Chair: Len Duvall AM

Deputy Chairman: Tony Arbour AM

Health Committee (5 Members)

Chair: Dr Onkar Sahota AM

Deputy Chair: Andrew Boff AM

Housing Committee (7 Members)

Chair: Tom Copley AM

Deputy Chair: Darren Johnson AM

Planning Committee (5 Members)

Chair: Nicky Gavron AM

Deputy Chairman: Steve O’Connell AM

Police and Crime Committee (9 Members)

Chair: Joanne McCartney AM

Deputy Chair: Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM

Deputy Chair: Jenny Jones AM

Regeneration Committee (5 Members)

Chairman: Gareth Bacon AM

Deputy Chair: Navin Shah AM

Transport Committee (9 Members)

Chair: Valerie Shawcross CBE AM

Deputy Chair: Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM

Full Membership of each Committee and terms of reference

Notes to editors

Notes for editors:

1. All London Assembly Committee meetings are open to the public.

2. See our public meeting calendar.

3. As well as investigating issues that matter to Londoners, the London Assembly acts as a check and a balance on the Mayor.

For more details, please contact Alison Bell in the Assembly Media Office on 020 7983 4228. For out of hours media enquiries please call 020 7983 4000 and ask for the Assembly duty press officer. Non-media enquiries should be directed to the Public Liaison Unit, Greater London Authority, on 020 7983 4100.