Borough Commanders

MQT on 2019-03-21
Session date: 
March 21, 2019
Question By: 
Tony Devenish
GLA Conservatives
Asked Of: 
The Mayor


Please provide a table of all 32 Boroughs and how many different individuals have been the Met Borough Commander in each since May 2016.


Answer for Borough Commanders
Borough Commanders

Borough Commanders

Answered By: 
The Mayor

The Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) has combined its previous 32 individual borough commands into 12 Basic Command Units (BCUs) with each under a single BCU Commander.

This transition began in early 2017 with the BCU pathfinders and was completed in early 2019 when the last BCU went live. Consequently all 32 boroughs experienced changes during this transitional period.

In order to make a reasonable comparison across BCU’s, the attached table shows the appointment of the first Commander in each BCU and any changes that have subsequently taken place. Ordinarily the expectation is that BCU Commander postings are for a period of 2-years, though this is not always possible given individual circumstances and operational needs.

Note BCU commanders were typically appointed several months before the formal BCU launch date. This was to allow the leadership to become established and was a key point of learning from the original BCU pathfinders.