Cycling Level of Service scoring system (1)

MQT on 2015-10-21
Session date: 
October 21, 2015
Question By: 
Caroline Pidgeon
Liberal Democrats
Asked Of: 
The Mayor


TfL now has the CLoS (Cycling Level of Service) scoring system in place to evaluate the existing environment, and plans for proposed schemes. 

Will you confirm what the minimum CLoS score needed is for plans to proceed through to the public consultation phase?


Answer for Cycling Level of Service scoring system (1)

Answer for Cycling Level of Service scoring system (1)

Answered By: 
The Mayor

The Cycling Level of Service (CLoS) assessment, as described in the London Cycling Design Standards (LCDS), is a methodology for assessing current cycling conditions, comparing the benefits of options for scheme proposals and framing discussion about design  so that schemes are both appealing for existing cyclists and encourage new cyclists.

CLoS prompts designers to respond appropriately to the street context and to address the six design outcomes described in LCDS that determine the quality of the experience of cycling; these being safety, directness, coherence, comfort, attractiveness and adaptability. This integrated approach to designing for cycling is preferable to setting a minimum target score for designers, which could actively discourage them from being ambitious in each of these important areas.

While there is no overall minimum score, CLoS emphasises specific 'critical factors' that we expect all new schemes to address. These include: avoiding cyclists sharing the carriageway with motor traffic where the volume is greater than 1,000 motor vehicles in a peak hour; cycle lanes less than 1.5 metres wide alongside parking or loading bays; and lanes shared with other traffic in the range 3.2 to 4.0 metres wide, which could lead to close passes.