Police LGBT Liaison Officers

MQT on 2013-12-18
Session date: 
December 18, 2013
Question By: 
Caroline Pidgeon
Liberal Democrats
Asked Of: 
The Mayor


Please provide details of how many full and part time Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) liaison officers there are in the Metropolitan Police for each London borough, and how many of these are dedicated officers.


Answer for Police LGBT Liaison Officers

Answer for Police LGBT Liaison Officers

Answered By: 
The Mayor

I have delivered on my manifesto pledge to have at least one MPS LGBT Liaison Officer (LO) in every borough, as well as in many of the Specialist Crime Units.

There are 155 LGBT LOs working across all boroughs and MPS Specialist Units. Of these, 115 LGBT LOs work in boroughs, predominantly in Neighbourhood Policing Teams, and a further 40 are attached to Specialist Units, including Homicide Command, Sexual Offences, Exploitation & Child Abuse Command (SOECA), and Specialist Firearms Command. The vast majority of LOs take on this role in addition to their core duties, although there are 2 full time LOs in place based in Tower Hamlets and RB Kensington and Chelsea.

The numbers of officers vary and change on the boroughs, as does the amount of time spent in that role.  This reflects decisions taken by local senior managers on how best to deploy resources to meet local needs.

There are a further 500 specialist hate crime investigators working in the 32 dedicated Community Safety Units (CSUs) that investigate LGBT hate crimes.

Boroughs and latest LO figures:

Westminster- 22                                                       Camden- 6

Lewisham- 3                                                             Redbridge- 6

Hackney- 2                                                               Southwark- 2

Lambeth- 7                                                               Bexley- 2

Brent- 4                                                                    Merton- 1

Tower Hamlets- 4                                                     Ealing- 5

Hammersmith and Fulham- 5                                   Hillingdon- 2

Islington- 3                                                               Croydon- 6

Newham- 4                                                               Ken and Chelsea- 4

Greenwich- 2                                                            Waltham Forest- 2

Barnet- 1                                                                   Havering- 1

Richmond- 2                                                             Bark and Dagenham- 1

Wandsworth- 7                                                         Bromley- 3

Enfield- 2                                                                  Harrow- 1

Haringey- 1                                                               Sutton- 1

Kingston- 2                                                               Hounslow -1