Local Policing Model (3)

MQT on 2013-06-19
Session date: 
June 19, 2013
Question By: 
Joanne McCartney
Labour Group
Asked Of: 
The Mayor


Where available, please outline the new Policing Structures for each borough in London under the new Local Policing Model. Please include, A) What teams will be in place eg Emergency Response Team, Safer Neighbourhood Team, Investigation Team B) How many officers will be dedicated to each teamC) What the structure of the management teams will look likeD) How many ward's per quadrantE) Which wards will be in each quadrant.


Answer for Local Policing Model (3)

Answer for Local Policing Model (3)

Answered By: 
The Mayor

Officers are drafting a response which will be sent shortly.


Written response from the Mayor received 28 October 2013

A) A summary of the components of the Local Policing Model (LPM) is available at:




B) Please see the Police and Crime Plan for the number of police officer posts in boroughs and in Safer Neighbourhood Teams (SNTs). Borough Commanders have some discretion to change the mix of resources, other than within SNTs, in order to respond to crime trends or to put specific initiatives in place. There are currently police officer vacancies at many boroughs.  Therefore the number of police officer posts and police officer numbers will vary between departments in comparable boroughs and change over time. 


C) Each team within the LPM will be led by Sergeants and Inspectors. Each Inspector will report to a Senior Leadership Team (SLT) member. SLT members will report to their Borough Commander who is responsible for the overall performance of the borough. Borough Commanders’ line management will be through their Area Commanders as part of the Territorial Police Chief Officer Group.


D) & E) Borough wards are placed into clusters of between 4 and 9.  These clusters are called Neighbourhoods. There are a total of 108 neighbourhoods. The number of Neighbourhoods on each Borough is set out below.


  • 2 Neighbourhoods: Hammersmith & Fulham, Kingston


  • 3 Neighbourhoods: Barking & Dagenham, Bexley, Brent, Camden, Enfield, Greenwich, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Kensington & Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Redbridge, Richmond, Sutton, Waltham Forest, Wandsworth


  • 4 Neighbourhoods: Barnet, Bromley, Ealing, Hackney, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Newham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets


  • 5 Neighbourhoods: Croydon, Westminster