Dedicated Detention Officers (DDOs)

MQT on 2009-11-18
Session date: 
November 18, 2009
Question By: 
Dee Doocey
Liberal Democrats
Asked Of: 
The Mayor


For each borough please can you tell me the number of cells that are operational, the number of sites at which cells are located, and the number of Dedicated Detention Officers in place? If any of these Dedicated Detention Officers are police officers please specify.


Answer for Dedicated Detention Officers (DDOs)

Answer for Dedicated Detention Officers (DDOs)

Answered By: 
The Mayor

Metropolitan Police detention officers, whilst only ever employed within the custody environment and therefore dedicated to that role, are formally called Designated Detention Officers. The word 'designated' refers to their designated powers under the Police Reform Act 2002.

There are no police officers who are designated detention officers as they already have the powers that designation would confer upon them.

There are currently 267 DDOs deployed at custody suites across London containing 956 operational cells.

It is intended that all custody suites will have DDOs at the conclusion of the Project Herald roll-out in April 2012.

Number of DDOs

Borough Number Borough Number Kensington & Chelsea 8 Lewisham 9 Westminster 43 Bromley 1 Camden 14 Harrow 14 Hackney 6 Brent 7 Tower Hamlets 8 Greenwich 4 Waltham Forest 9 Bexley 8 Redbridge 20 Richmond 9 Havering 4 Hounslow 7 Lambeth 26 Ealing 6 Southwark 18 Enfield 6 Islington 13 Haringey 7 Hammersmith & Fulham 5 Croydon 12 Sutton 3 Total 267