Mayor announces three further appointments to TfL Board

06 November 2012
  • New Board members to take up post from January 2013

  • Board to oversee continuing investment in and improvements to transport network

The Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, has confirmed three further appointments to the Transport for London Board.

The Mayor has appointed outgoing TUC General Secretary, Brendan Barber, Angela Knight, current Chief Executive of Energy UK and former Chief Executive of the British Bankers Association and former Chairman of London TravelWatch, Brian Cooke to the TfL Board.

These appointments add to four other new appointments announced in September and bring the Board to its full complement. The new Board members will take up their post from January 2013 and will work with the Mayor Boris Johnson as Chair and Isabel Dedring as Deputy Chair of the Board. Patrick O’Keeffe and Christopher Garnett will both be stepping down as Board members on 31 December 2012.

The Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, said: “These appointments bring considerable expertise in trade union issues, business and customer experience to the Board; and will help me to oversee the essential job of providing Londoners with a world-class transport system that is safe, efficient, economical and reliable. They will also be of huge support in our work to secure the investment that will allow us to introduce the very latest technology to upgrade and improve our transport system for Londoners.”


Notes to Editors

  • The TfL Board members are Isabel Dedring, Peter Anderson, Sir John Armitt, Richard Barnes, Charles Belcher, Roger Burnley, Baroness Grey-Thompson, Eva Lindholm, Michael Liebreich, Daniel Moylan, Bob Oddy, Patrick O’Keeffe, Keith Williams and Steve Wright.

Brendan Barber

  • Brendan Barber is General Secretary of the TUC, which represents 53 unions with a total membership of around six million working in all sectors of the economy.

  • Brendan was born in Southport and attended St Mary’s College in Crosby. After a gap year teaching with VSO in Ghana, he took a degree in social sciences at City University London, where he became President of the Student Union.

  • After working for an industrial training board for a year he joined the TUC in 1975, becoming Head of the Press Department in 1979 and the Industrial Relations Department in 1987 before being appointed Deputy General Secretary in 1993.

  • He was elected General Secretary in 2003 and has served on a number of public bodies, including the ACAS Council and the Court of the Bank of England. He is currently a Commissioner on the UK Commission for Employment and Skills.

Brian Cooke

  • Brian Cooke was Chairman of London TravelWatch and a board member of Passenger Focus from 2004 to 2008. Prior to that he was on the Rail Passengers committee for Eastern England.

  • Much of his career was in the Travel Industry as Managing Director of a group of travel agencies. During that time he served as a director of both the Association of British Travel Agents (ABTA) and also the Institute of Travel and Tourism of which he is a fellow.

Angela Knight

  • Before joining Energy UK, Angela was Chief Executive at the BBA for 5 years. Previously she was Chief Executive of the Association of Private Client Investment Managers and Stockbrokers. She was honoured with a CBE for services to the financial services industry in 2007.

  • She was MP for Erewash from 1992 – 1997 and Economic Secretary to the Treasury from 1995- 1997, after being Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke MP.