## **MDA No.: 1361**

# **Title: London TravelWatch Board Appointments**

## 1. Executive Summary

- 1.1 At the Transport Committee meeting on 14 December 2021 the Committee resolved:
  - 6.2 (b) That authority be delegated to the Chair, in consultation with the Deputy Chairman and party Group Lead Members, to agree final, formal decisions regarding appointments to the London TravelWatch Board further to the recent recruitment exercise and subject to consultation with the Secretary of State for Transport.
- 1.2 Following consultation with the Secretary of State for Transport and party Group Lead Members, the Chair agreed to the appointment of three new Board Members, Priya Khuller, Tiffany Lam and Susan Stockwell, and that one Board Member, Alan Benson, be reappointed for a second term of four years. These appointments would come into effect from January 2022. It was also agreed that two Board Members, Karen McArthur and Laura Osbourne, whose terms of office currently end on 31 December 2022, be extended by a further year to 31 December 2023.

#### 2. Decision

2.1 That the Chair, following consultation with the Secretary of State for Transport, and in consultation with the Deputy Chairman and party Group Lead Members, approves the appointment, reappointment, and extension of terms of office of London TravelWatch Board Members as set out at paragraph 3.5.

#### **Assembly Member**

I confirm that I do not have any disclosable pecuniary interests in the proposed decision and take the decision in compliance with the Code of Conduct for elected Members of the Authority.

The above request has my approval.

Signature:

**Printed Name: Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM** 

Date: 22 December 2021

### 3. Decision by an Assembly Member under Delegated Authority

#### Background and proposed next steps:

- 3.1 The London Assembly has delegated authority to the Transport Committee to deal with matters relating to London TravelWatch, the statutory watchdog for transport users in the capital. The appointment of the London TravelWatch Chair and Board Members is a statutory responsibility of the London Assembly (s247 of the GLA Act 1999).
- 3.2 On 14 April 2021 the Chair of the GLA Oversight Committee authorised the Chief Officer (or the person they delegated authority to) to make necessary arrangements and associated decisions up to the final stage of recruitment, where shortlisted candidates will be interviewed and appointment decisions made, in liaison with the lead Members of the Transport Committee.
- 3.3 In November 2021, interviews were held for new members of the London TravelWatch Board. Following this the interview panel proposed four appointments, three of which are for new Board members, and one for an existing Board member for a new term of four years. It was also proposed that the terms of office of two existing members of the Board which currently end on 31 December 2022 be extended by a further year to 31 December 2023.
- 3.4 The Secretary of State for Transport was consulted on these appointments. In his response to the consultation dated 17 December 2021 he set out that he noted the proposal and had no additional comments.
- 3.5 Following further consultation with party Group Lead Members, the Chair agreed to the appointment of three new Board Members, Priya Khuller, Tiffany Lam and Susan Stockwell, and that one Board Member, Alan Benson, be reappointed for a second term of four years. These appointments would come into effect from 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2025. It was also agreed that two Board Members, Karen McArthur and Laura Osbourne, whose terms of office currently end on 31 December 2022, be extended by a further year to 31 December 2023.
- 3.6 The exercise of delegated authority approving the extension to the term of appointment of the Chair of the London TravelWatch Board will be formally noted at the Transport Committee's next appropriate meeting.

#### Confirmation that appropriate delegated authority exists for this decision:

Signature (Committee Services): Paul Goodchild

Printed Name: Paul Goodchild

Date: 20 December 2021

Telephone Number: 07842 600832

#### **Financial Implications: NOT REQUIRED**

Note: Finance comments and signature are required only where there are financial implications arising or the potential for financial implications.

Signature (Finance): Not Required

**Printed Name:** 

Date:

Telephone Number:

#### **Legal Implications:**

The Chair of Transport Committee has the power to make the decision set out in this report.

Signature (Legal):

Printed Name: Emma Strain, Monitoring Officer

Date: 20 December 2021

Telephone Number: 020 7983 6550

#### Supporting Detail / List of Consultees:

- Keith Prince AM (Deputy Chairman)
- Ellv Baker AM
- Sian Berry AM

#### 4. Public Access to Information

- 4.1 Information in this form (Part 1) is subject to the FoIA, or the EIR and will be made available on the GLA Website, usually within one working day of approval.
- 4.2 If immediate publication risks compromising the implementation of the decision (for example, to complete a procurement process), it can be deferred until a specific date. Deferral periods should be kept to the shortest length strictly necessary.
- 4.3 **Note**: this form (Part 1) will either be published within one working day after it has been approved or on the defer date.

#### Part 1 - Deferral:

Is the publication of Part 1 of this approval to be deferred? NO

If yes, until what date:

#### Part 2 - Sensitive Information:

Only the facts or advice that would be exempt from disclosure under FoIA or EIR should be included in the separate Part 2 form, together with the legal rationale for non-publication.

Is there a part 2 form? NO

## **Lead Officer / Author**

Signature: Fiona Bywaters

Printed Name: Fiona Bywaters

Job Title: Committee Services Manager

Date: 20 December 2021

Telephone Number: 020 7983 4425

## **Countersigned by Executive Director:**

Signature:

Printed Name: Helen Ewan

Date: 22 December 2021

Telephone Number: 07813 796 175