is changing

Try our beta site and let us know what you think

Mayor & Assembly

The Greater London Authority (GLA) is made up of the Mayor and the London Assembly. The Mayor is in charge of the GLA, while the 25 Assembly Members hold the Mayor to account on behalf of Londoners and investigate ways of improving the quality of life in the capital.

Who we work with

At City Hall, we work with local councils, central government, business and community groups. We also work closely with other organisations in London government. Together this is called the GLA group:

Transport for London (TfL) (External site)

Responsible for London's transport

Mayor's Office for Policing and Crime (MOPAC)

Oversees the work of the Metropolitan Police Service

London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA) (external website)

Runs the London Fire Brigade

London Legacy Development Corporation (LLDC) (external website)

Responsible for managing Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

London & Partners (external website)

The official promotional company for London

The London Enterprise Panel works with business on regeneration, employment
and skills in London. It is chaired by the Mayor.
The London Resilience Partnership provides a mechanism for multi-agency
cooperation in planning for, and responding to large scale emergencies.

How London government is run

We have a role in many aspects of London life. In fact, you probably see our
work every day. You can explore our work in our interactive Guide to City Hall
PDF below.

Cover, Guide to City Hall

Our most important projects are as follows:

You can find out more information about how we’re performing in these areas at

Central and local government

Central government and local government represent the other two tiers of London government. Both ourselves and the London boroughs are mostly funded by central government. It also leads on:


There are 33 local authorities in London, the 32 London boroughs and the City of London Corporation (external website). These are elected directly by the local communities which they serve. In London, their collective views are represented by London Councils (external website). Boroughs lead at local level on: