Events

The Mayor organises a yearly programme of eight core events to celebrate London’s culture and communities: St Patrick’s Day Parade and Festival, Feast of St George, Vaisakhi Festival, Eid, Diwali Festival, African Festival, Liberty Festival and New Year’s Eve Fireworks. He also supports a range of other events, exhibitions at City Hall and celebrations across London.

Upcoming events

Royal Opera House BP Summer Screens
Tuesday, 20 May 2014 - 7:00pm to Wednesday, 17 September 2014 - 7:30pm

Enjoy live opera for free on the big screen in Trafalgar Square this summer.

Fantastic image of last years event taken by Elliot Franks
Summer of High Streets
24 June 2014 to 27 September 2014

Step outside and celebrate your local high street this summer with fantastic free events across London.

Summer of High Streets
Totally Thames
Monday, 1 September 2014 - 10:00am to Tuesday, 30 September 2014 - 6:00pm
Come and celebrate the best of London’s River Thames at a new festival this September.
 
Tolkien on the Thames
MOPAC Roadshows
8 September 2014 to 16 December 2014

The Deputy Mayor for Policing and Crime is revisiting every London borough in 2014 with senior Metropolitan Police officers to talk about local policing and answer your questions.

Three Night Markets
Thursday, 18 September 2014 - 12:00pm to Thursday, 16 October 2014 - 7:00pm

While the city sleeps, London’s Smithfield, Billingsgate and New Covent Garden markets come to life.

Africa on the Square
Saturday, 11 October 2014 - 12:00pm to 6:00pm

Come and celebrate African cultures in Trafalgar Square on Saturday 11 October.

Kaago Drummers - Africa event – Trafalgar Square 2008, Photographer: Colin Patterson
Diwali 2014
Sunday, 12 October 2014 (All day)

Come to Trafalgar Square for Diwali festivities on Sunday 12 October.

Diwali 2014
People's Question Time - Waltham Forest
Tuesday, 11 November 2014 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Your chance to put questions to the Mayor of London and London Assembly. 

Boris Johnson, Mayor of London
Carol Singing on Trafalgar Square 2014
8 December 2014 to 23 December 2014

The carol singing programme for Christmas 2014 runs from Monday 8 – Tuesday 23 December, excluding Saturday 13 December 2014 and Tuesday 16 December 2014.